do your parents stalk you on twitter / FB?

dottie

have you unfriended your parents? and how old are you?

my parents are stalking me on FB and twitter. i blocked them on facebook so they are still "friends" but they can't read or post on my wall. now they are sending me messages on twitter as though it's a PM. if you have something to discuss CALL ME. jfc. stop broadcasting personal information about me on a public venue. i'm 30 years old and a very private person. i have my friends... then i have my stalker family who embarrasses me because they are overbearing and patronizing.

i love my parents but i love my privacy, too. ugh. i feel like a jerk but they have no respect for my personal boundaries.

i'm curious about your experiences. did you BLOCK?

You're not a jerk, that would annoy me too. I'm lucky that neither of my parents are up-to-date technology-wise. They don't even know what Twitter and Facebook is. :B

I'm 19 by the way, but my opinion wouldn't change if I were older. Public exposure of personal matters should happen unless everyone involved has given their consent. I mean, if they really needed to use the internet to contact you, they could have send you an E-mail. It isn't any more difficult then using Twitter and Facebook.

Have you tried telling them not to do that? It seems like a reasonable request to me.

dottie

@fitftw does she try to be friends with you or guilt trip you about it?

i just sent this private message to my dad:

can you stop sending me public messages on twitter. that is public. everyone can read that. i don't want people reading my private business. if you want to send me a private message, send me a private message. twitter is PUBLIC. can you delete that? thanks.

he said...

When you send a tweet to someone with @ in front it is private to you only. It is not broadcast to all twitter

i said...