How depression looks like for you?

takethislife

Hi I'm new to this subforum.
I'm thinking I might have depression. So I was wondering if you guys diagnosed with depression could describe how it looks like. You know that thread "You might be socially anxious if..."? Something like that. I mean specific things in everyday life, your thoughts, experiences... I'd appreciate if someone would share that with me.

upndwn

When I'm depressed I feel sad and burnt-out for no reason at all. I have no energy, no drive to do anything and I just want to sleep all the time. I can barely get up in the morning. I ignore even menial tasks like taking the dishes, going to the store and even showering. My head is filled with negative thoughts. Everything seems hopeless and sometimes I think about just giving up and go die.

Depression is not pleasant, it is kind of hard to explain to people who has never experienced it before. Most people have felt sorrow, but depression is not like sorrow, it's something else entirely. It's like your entire being is filled up with negativity and everything positive is just rebuffed.

man on the hill

When I'm depressed I feel sad and burnt-out for no reason at all. I have no energy, no drive to do anything and I just want to sleep all the time. I can barely get up in the morning. I ignore even menial tasks like taking the dishes, going to the store and even showering. My head is filled with negative thoughts. Everything seems hopeless and sometimes I think about just giving up and go die.

Depression is not pleasant, it is kind of hard to explain to people who has never experienced it before. Most people have felt sorrow, but depression is not like sorrow, it's something else entirely. It's like your entire being is filled up with negativity and everything positive is just rebuffed.