Fitting in (as a child/teenager vs. as an adult)

Has 'not fitting in' been your main social anxiety trigger?

• I am a student - yes, it's my main trigger.

Votes: 8 18.2%
  • I am an adult - yes, it's my main trigger.

Votes: 16 36.4%
  • I am a student - no, it's not my main trigger.

Votes: 4 9.1%
  • I am an adult - no, it's not my main trigger.

Votes: 16 36.4%

• Total voters

WeirdyMcGee

I'm sure most of us are here on SPW because we didn't 'fit in' at some point, so let's talk about that a bit.

How old are you?

Did you 'fit in' with people at school? Why do you think you did/didn't?

If you have finished school, have you found it easier or harder or the same to 'fit in' with people at work? Why do you think you do/don't?

Has not fitting in been a main trigger for your social anxiety?

WeirdyMcGee

I am 24, now.
In school, I had a hard time fitting in because of elements of my life that were beyond my control.
Being Metis, I wasn't accepted by the other aboriginal kids for 'being too white' mainly-- and not accepted by the rest of the kids for being 'poor'.

After I finished school, I mostly worked with middle-aged women whom I found very easy to talk to and be around. They seemed to see me as 'the baby' of the group and treated me like a family member. Even if they'd have known where I was born to who I was born to-- I don't think I would have been judged the same way I was, going to school in a small town.

I consider not fitting in to be one of many elements to my anxiety.
Just one thing attributing to my lack of faith in humanity.

lilmutegirl

I'm sure most of us are here on SPW because we didn't 'fit in' at some point, so let's talk about that a bit.

How old are you?

If you have finished school, have you found it easier or harder or the same to 'fit in' with people at work? Why do you think you do/don't?

I'm 30.