College Grad & Minimum Wage/Low Income?

arovt

you know.. I'm 24 and when i graduated from UCSD with a Bachelor of Science in Management Science (Econ with an emphasis in Finance), I really had close to zero prospects. Getting a financial analyst position with no experience was next to impossible. I did some specialized business systems training, learning relational databases and SQL (really not that hard to be honest), and I did some contract work at tech companies for 1 1/2 years before i finally got a full time offer at a medical device company as a business systems analyst.

Thats my story, and my point here is your degree nowadays is not enough because most companies require some sort of specialized knowledge or training for any position. You should try to get an internship somewhere even if it's after college, there is nothing wrong with that. It will pay less but is a great foot in the door to get yourself some valuable experience and references. Apply to public companies via indeed.com, and fix up your resume and even make it ostentatious by lying a bit -- there is nothing wrong with that. All you need is the initial interview call so prepare hard and figure out what it is that you actually want to do. It was tough for me after college so i really know how to help others now IMO. I really cannot believe today that only a few years after college, I'm a success story. All ya gotta do is beat the system..and theres nothing wrong with that when it's a flawed system to begin with! Hope this helps!

Mechanical degree for me, working way below what I'm qualified for. It sucks! I feel like a professional photographer working at the 1 hour photo lab. :kickingmyself: