Awkward Personal Questions

How do you react when someone asks you an awkward personal question like:

Why don't you have a job?

What are your goals in live? (if you actually have none)

What do you do in your free time? (if you have no friends or hobbies)

and so on...

Would you tell the truth? Make up a complete lie? Or just answer something vague and diplomatic?

I'm having a real problem with this. I don't want to come across as rude and say "none of your business" especially if it's a friend asking these questions. I'm unable to make up lies but on the other hand I'm too ashamed to admit the truth. What's the best to say in these situations?

ukmale

I say I'm a writer with writers block

My goals in life run away and join the legion

I explore my inner peace by chilling out with a tv show

I have be know to lie and make my life seem more great than it really is but come on how do you tell people that I'm a house bound guy red face moment there its hard to just come out and speak the whole truth and nothing but the truth I try and tell the truth but say something like amatuer chef in the making and try and make light of it then get upset by people

Hope it helps try and make light of it don't lie but don't make your life seem the worlds worse

jaim38

I respond with something from the past such as "I sometimes hang out with friends, eat out or watch movie at the theatre" (which I used to do). It is true, in the past.

I also answer with something vague like "I do yoga and read fiction." I don't reveal what kind of fiction I read, or what kinds of yoga I do, just be general.

Last edited:

ukmale

I respond with something from the past such as "I sometimes hang out with friends, eat out or watch movie at the theatre" (which I used to do). It is true, in the past.

So true I have done this soo many times to its not lying as its stuff you do but like you said in the past