What do you do for a living?

And how do your social problems affect your work or vice-versa?

I'm a medical lab technician. I stay in the lab pretty much all day, away from patients. There's anywhere from 0-8 other people scattered thoughout the lab who I work with. I chose this job, which I have no interest in, almost solely because I wouldn't have to work with people very much. Sometimes I have to go to the ER to draw blood and that stresses me out a lot.

Has anyone else let their fears determine their career? Has anyone here overcome their fears in order to do something they love?

Slytherin88

I am a secondary teacher. Becoming this has helped a lot with my SP and anxiety, especially doing supply/substitute teaching. it's not something I want to do, but I don't know how to get into the career I want.

Froggy246

Admin, I feel SA has capped me in terms of moving upwards or towards a career that would interest me. For example I dropped out of a couple of college courses because I couldn't handle the presentations, it soaks up a lot of energy too so I lack motivation to move in a new direction. I tend to side step or apply for jobs a scale under what I've done previously, and don't go for promotions. I don't know how long I can keep this up though because I'm getting on now! But the fear is just so intense, I think I might have to consider outside help before I throw my life away.

Last edited:

mikebird

Banned
I never knew my story

I just got shown the exit after a few years, and each incident makes me crumble

The 3rd position was lost because I lost my girlfriend and knew it would set me down the ranks of esteem, but didn't take in the current situation and what it would mean for the future.

Recruiters do smell my loss of status and it seems nothing I can do to climb the rope out of the pit. I'm been too paranoid and need to be ambitious and just say something nice. My attitude needs correction. The soul effort needs to be made

Flanscho