Memory Loss

Jimsie

I just had a pretty scary experience just going to the shops to get food. I was standing in the queue feeling particularly anxious, possibly more than usual. Paranoid that people are looking at me etc etc.

Anyway when I went to pay for my shopping, suddenly I had forgot my pin number. This is the same 4 digit pin number that I have been using for the last 4+ years and never had a problem remembering it before. Why would I suddenly just forget it like that? I just started typing in random digits hoping that somehow i would pick the right ones out of instinct, but nope. It wasn't until I went outside and walked around for a bit that I finally remembered it. Recently I have been feeling more and more like everything isn't real.

I am wondering if this is a common thing that comes with anxiety or could this be something else? I'm not on any medication or anything.

Phoenixx

Yeah I'm pretty sure suddenly forgetting things is common with anxiety. It's happened to me before a few times too. Forgetting pin numbers on the spot, instantly forgetting your social security number even though you've had it memorized for a couple years now, forgetting what the date is when writing a check, yeah it's all happened to me.

NathanielWingatePeaslee

Iä! Iä! Cthulhu fhtagn!
Staff member
It's a common problem for me in situations where I need to deal with people. It's especially detrimental for me when I'm being instructed on something, like at work--the high pressure, high anxiety of it can really screw up my brain so that I remember almost nothing of what I'm told.

Hoppy

One of the symptons of not getting enough sleep is short term memory loss.

Any sort of sleep disturbance that prevent you from reaching deep sleep will have that sort of effect on you, especially if it is long term.

I've been known to stand in the middle of the workshop having absolutely no idea what I was busy doing or what I am trying to do. Not very nice.

WeirdyMcGee