Is there hope for me?

Social anxiety has plagued me all my life. I had few friends in school, I never raised my hand in class, and I rarely attended social functions outside of school. I was really smart, though. I went to college, and suffered from depression as a result of not having the courage to even say so much as hello to a girl I became increasingly obsessed with. After graduation, I spent about five years at home (my parents' home) surfing the internet. Eventually, I got really lucky and met someone (online) who is very awesome, and who I currently live with, but she is not equipped to defeat my anxiety problems for me. I'm about to turn 30 now, I'm poor, and I have no work experience to speak of, not to mention the fact that I am terrified to apply for a job. As it turns out, thanks to my college degree, I am over-qualified and under-experienced for most positions.

Anyway, with my friend's help, I finally tried therapy for a year and a half; it didn't work. And I can't afford to keep it up indefinitely. I tried various medications over a period of six months until I got fed up with playing "mad science" with my own body. Nothing helped. At all. I probably didn't give it enough time to find the right "chemical cocktail" but I'm the kind of person who dislikes even taking medicine for colds if I can avoid it. I only tried it because I was that desperate. If there were a pill I knew would significantly reduce my social anxiety, I would gladly take it. But the thought of trying countless different chemicals, all with their own side effects, makes me feel incredibly anxious.