How do I not be creepy?

Omega

Okay so basically, I suck with social situations, both in person and on facebook etc.
I fail at smiling, I'm so bad at it that when I try my cheeks twitch. Not only that but I'm not sure when I'm supposed to smile, so I dont.
I find myself glaring at people, I've been told by people I come across as scary, probably because I glare without smiling.
I'm not too good at eye contact, but I'm getting better.
I have no idea what to talk about with people, I spend more time thinking than I do talking, so I come across as quiet, which I guess is also creepy.
On social networks people rarely start a conversation with me, and if they do I panic because I dont know what to say and it sort of dies out.
Just posting this was a big deal for me, even though I'm pretty anonymous.
But its not that I'm like this all the time, there are times when I'm socially awesome, its just incredably rare.
Alcohol used to help, but now it just makes me do stupid things.
So in short I guess my main problem is knowing how to meet people and not scare them off.

Is anybody else like this?
Has anybody else found a way to cope?
Why cant i just be normal? :kickingmyself:

jaim38

Hi and welcome to the forum!

I'm like this too. I just can't smile at people (except with friends and family) for some reason. I also find myself glaring at people sometimes. There's this part of me that is suspicious of other people. If I smile at people and they don't smile back, it makes me feel vulnerable and weak.

I'm still working on smiling, especially in public. When I look in the mirror, smiling makes me look uglier. My face is fatter, my eyes squintier, my nose becomes broader, sometimes I think I'm better off not smiling. I have a round face shape, which isn't exactly ideal.

nodejesque

Hi omega:)