Cheating?

Let's start off by saying I am new to the playing field. I've only had one boyfriend, and we only ever held hands, so I've never been in a serious relationship.

I've liked this one guy for a while, and, over the course of the semester, have become good friends with him. I suspected he might have feelings for me. A mutual friend informed me he had a girlfriend, which I thought was odd, considering she had never been mentioned up until that point.
Recently, the guy I'm crushing on admitted both to fancying me and to having a girlfriend. He plans on breaking up with her soon, so he can go out with me.
Considering this girlfriend has only come up in conversation twice & I've never met her, I forget about her often, to my dismay (I'm afraid I'm rather absentminded).
This guy & I email constantly, and are with each other as much as possible during university. We've held hands and hugged, and he says he loves me all the time.
I've told two of my closer friends, and they both tried to reassure me that I haven't done anything wrong. I'm convinced that what we are doing is cheating.
The guy & I have talked everything out many times. He agrees that this is cheating & that it will never happen again. He plans on breaking up with her in person & explaining everything that has happened so she at least has the truth.
I know this is a sticky situation, and I wasn't sure how to deal with it. So far I believe it has been handled fairly well..
My questions appear at last:
  • Is this cheating?
  • If so, what should I do next? What should I have done differently?
  • If not, how far do you have to go until you personally consider it cheating?

Any & all feedback is appreciated. Thank you for your time.

gummybear22