A day in the life of avoidant personality disorder?

Thelostone

I know for a fact that i have social anxiety very bad, but looking at the symptoms for avoidant personality disorder make me very anxious as to wether i might have it or not...

For instance when Im talking to people i dont know very well i dont know how to interact with them I feel as if i am a different species as them or something. I find myself just staring at people and wondering things about them a lot. I dont know how to respond very well or be able to hold a long conversation without over thinking everything/if at all. I avoid people constantly. Im SO sensitive to rejection and things alongthose lines.
but could this just be my SA?

can anyone tell me what it is like a day in the life of this disorder?

206Raider

Oh I know, I can be pretty avoidant at times but I don't know if I have AvPD when I'm at places I try to interact but I'm not very good at keeping conversations going. I know it feels like your a martian sometimes among other people and it can be deflating to feel that way. If you avoid a lot, I'm not going to lie it's depressing if your isolated, and feelings of hopelessness definitly been there.

FountainandFairfax

in a VAN down by the RIVER
I bet that most people with anxiety problems aren't completely under the umbrella of any one disorder, especially when so many of them seem to share identical symptoms.

I don't know if I have avoidant personality disorder, I only know that I avoid most social interaction like the plague because they make me so anxious and paranoid. If that's the criteria, sign me up as well.

El_Pajaro

I agree with you FountainandFairfax...

I also use to consider all these other possible disorders for myself...pile on more things that are wrong with me...but eventually I noticed alot of the symptoms/problems were the same. the anxiety is always there.

Dionysus