Some very basic dating tips for guys

Felgen

A lot of guys on this board have problems with the opposite sex. A few will even blame every individual girl because of it. I'm not a dating expert or anything, but here is how I managed to overcome love-shyness:

First of all, you will need confidence. This can be "faked" for a short amount of time (enough to get you in bed with a drunk chick, but no more than that), but it will come by itself after hard work. If you're obese, try to lose some weight; while there are fat guys with hot girlfriends, these fat guys have social skills we don't have. Start going to the gym and become more muscular--this will also boost your confidence. Get a job that will enable you to move out of mom's house (and don't give up before you have one) and consider enrolling in college.

Secondly, most of the PUA stuff with the cheesy pick-up lines is BULLSH!T designed by guys who want to earn money from other people's problems. The only ones worth mentioning are David DeAngelo and Neil Strauss, because unlike other pick-up artists, their material isn't as out of date as Windows 95. However, before you try out any of the dating gurus, read books and articles on overcoming shyness and anxiety.

Third, get a haircut and a nice wardrobe. Make sure it's a haircut that looks good with your facial structure; what looks great one one person, may not look that great on the person next to him. If you know where to look, designer jeans and nice sweaters don't have to be expensive. If you're not sure about what looks good on you, ask a female friend (female friends are underrated). A lot of men and women are uncut diamonds without knowing it themselves.