Selective Mutism

Muka

There is some debate over changing the name of Selective Mutism as the term 'selective' makes it sound voluntary, according to some. Any thoughts or ideas on the subject?

Piece_By_Piece

I guess what makes it selective is that the person talks in some occasions. So therefore "selective" doesn't mean that it's voluntary. For example, there might be someone who talks normally to his/her family members, but they don't talk at all in school. This is very common when it comes to selective mutism, I think. I'm not an expert, though. These are just my thoughts on it. Someone who knows more about it can perhaps enlighten me (and others) in case what I just wrote sounds very off :D

laure15

I don't think "selective" means voluntary. A child with selective mutism may be unable to speak in social situations (outside of the home) because of social phobia, shyness, etc.

x Will x

Maybe have the terms "specific" and "generalised" mutism like there is "specific" and "generalised" social anxiety dissorder.

ScaredToBreathe

I don't believe the name should be changed, as selective doesn't mean voluntary it simply refers to mutism happening in specific instances rather than constantly.
I doubt people would really care either way, as most have no clue what selective mutism even is. I went to a psychiatrist once with self-diagnosed SM, and as soon as she met me, without asking about my past or why I think I have SM, she told me I didn't have SM because I talked to her. Next time I visited her I was too nervous to talk and she told me I have "minor" SM... I don't see her anymore. Most psychiatrists are dumba**es and cannot empathize with their patients, especially ones with rarer disabilities like SM.

OceanMist

There is some debate over changing the name of Selective Mutism as the term 'selective' makes it sound voluntary, according to some. Any thoughts or ideas on the subject?

My answer is usually the same with these type of threads.