My escapisms, procrastination and short comings..

Roman Legion

I have had a very bad addiction to video games since the mid-late 90's and it has been progressively worse. I know with my issues that I should try to steer clear of these escapisms as they again are very addicting, but I can't seem to help it.. I used to read more and learn for fun, I have lost interest with TV a few years ago when everything turned to what seems like the same rubbish. I'd like to get back into reading, learning and rid myself of my procrastination once and for all. I think I turned to escapisms around the time I stared school, but then it was only TV.. In the mid-90's I started playing Oregon Trail on our old PC, then in 1999 we got a new computer with windows 98 and I discovered Quake II and Star Wars: Dark Forces.. It was down-hill from there. At school I had to suffer through a bad time due to my selective mutism and nobody seeming to know about it or even care to find out (Which went on for my entire time in the public education system. I don't much care now for dating or fixing my SM, I just want to break the addiction to this escapism once and for all so I can enjoy reading, and focus on my school work in August. I have come to terms with my SM, but I can no longer afford to procrastinate though school and I don't want to, but I am addicted to video games. Anybody have advice or been through this same situation? I tried selling my xbox before.. I ended up with another one and a PS3 that I really couldn't afford! I am sure I forgot a few things, so I may add more later..

dyingtolive

dude, i am in a similar situation..

Never thought id get hooked actually. Was hooked on and off throughout the years to some games.. But the games end... When they're over, they're over, you can move on to something else..

Work on that, have closure on one game.. then don't let another game interest you.