Letting go of the past?

Tuukka40

I'm a senior in high school and the fact that I wasted all of my high school years just kind of hit me..And it is the biggest regret of my life.

As a freshman I didn't really care much about doing stuff on the weekends..I preferred to go home on a Friday and just watch TV and play video games all weekend. Pretty much the same case sophomore year. By junior year I kind of wanted to start going out, partying, and being with friends..But by then I already established myself as one of the quiet kids. Wasn't really the friendless outcast of the school..But if you weren't one of my close friends or didn't go to elementary with me, you would have no clue who I was. It would have been a challenge to make friends either way because I'm pretty shy.

But now I'm a couple months from graduation and I've never been to a school dance, never went to a football game, never went to homecoming, didn't go to junior prom, probably won't go to senior prom, didn't have many friends, never had a girlfriend. The only fond memory I'm taking out of high school is hockey. Even then it is only because of the personal success I had.

It is really frustrating..My life feels like it's flying by and I'll be in the same social situation when I'm 34 as I am now at 17::(: Any advice on how to just move forward and change what seems to be my fate?

Lonelykitsune

I'm in pretty much the exact same situation,same age too..No discos boyfriend or anything,in fact almost no contact with males at all since its an all-girl school.And next year is my last year.And I also felt happy enough during the first two years to go home and do nothing socialPlus I had many potential friendships but didn't really do anything and so never got close to anyone.

Don't really have any advice though :( I don't feel like I've grown up much at all and still feel like a kid most of the time.

fitftw