Job search anxiety-avoidance-procrastination-regret

Hi everyone,

I'm glad to have joined the forum today.

Although I haven't come across a topic like this, I wonder if there are people who have experienced this vicious cycle.

I know AVPD is recognised as a psychiatric condition but I feel guilty for 'having it'.

It is something which I feel is not totally out of our control.

Doesn't guilt and regret come naturally with avoidance?

Right now I feel slightly overwhelmed with negative emotions and feel the need to let it out.

This is my situation at the moment -

I have a degree in engineering and I graduated in Dec 2009.I actually dreaded graduation and my future in general.

Like everyone else I should have shown urgency and busied myself with job applications straightaway.Infact I should have been prepared for it much
earlier than graduation. But I did not have a plan and was terrified of the unknown.

I was fearful of being on my own and being responsible for my life.

My lack of goals were soon replaced with fear and I quickly went in avoidant mode.

If relatives and friends inquired about me, I would panic and answer that I am doing okay.I resisted their efforts to help me when they asked me to send my resume to them.

My fear and avoidance stems from the feeling of "how would survive if I get a job" and not from "would I ever get a job".

The only consolation was that I volunteered to work on a project for a professor in my department on a part time basis.It was a activity which was less risk and there wasn't a lot expected from me.

Despite my avoidance,last year a friend set me up for a phone interview in a company.

Although I panicked, I realised that it was a great opportunity for me to make a change as the situation was unavoidable.

I had to give the interview. So I frantically crammed through whatever I could come across.I was asked simple straight forward questions but I still hemmed and hawed and could not remember much of what I had read.