First job?

Social_Monstrosity

I am 20 and have never had a job. My mother is struggling to pay bills and I feel like **** not being able to help her. My anxiety is binding me down but I feel the need to contribute and actually feel like a working component to my family. What kind of job would take somebody with zero experience at the age of 20? I'm going to guess fast food is really my only option...:(

I'm not good at anything.

Maybe that's just what you think. Try teaching English at least once, for example, if you don't try it, you'll never find out if you can do it. Whatever you decide to do, don't become a loser working at McDonald's or something, it's better to be a lazy guy than a loser.

MrJones

Maybe that's just what you think. Try teaching English at least once, for example, if you don't try it, you'll never find out if you can do it. Whatever you decide to do, don't become a loser working at McDonald's or something, it's better to be a lazy guy than a loser.
People working at McDonalds are not necessarily losers

This is a really narrow minded view of the world. Why does working at McDonalds make you a "loser"?

MrJones

When you need money and the only thing you can do is working in something you don't like, you have to do it anyway.
BUT, if you can do something "better", something you like, something that makes you happy, do it, of course.

Anyway you have to look what are the available jobs and then choose what fits the best.

Feathers

Hamelech, I've done some teaching and it can be very stressful, depends where you teach too.. Some people do great at it, some may do better in other jobs... Usually you do need some sort of certificate or education, unless you do it informally, eg tutoring or giving guitar lessons or such.

Some people think 'teachers' are 'losers' too because in comparison to some 'hot shot biz' people, they don't earn such huge amounts of money.