Benzodiazepines

sara226

Would you take benzodiazepines (Valium, Ativan...) for social anxiety?

I read they can be addictive.

Kamen

No, no and no! It's very likely you'll regret that. Better lookup Valerian and Mentha.

lyricalliaisons

I disagree with a lot that's been said from personal experience. I've been taking a benzodiazepine (Klonopin) for about two years, or almost, now & I'm glad I started taking them. For me, they haven't been at all addicting & I haven't even had any withdrawal symptoms when I've been without them, though that is incredibly rare. Honestly, unless you have addiction problems, if you're anxiety is severe enough, I don't see a problem with them.

decadeOfSA

Benzos likely made my anxiety worse. I've been on them for 15 years. I've been tapering for 2 years slowly and have 1.5 mg Klonopin to go. Most of that time I had to take a certain amount of benzos everyday or have terrible anxiety from withdrawal. When you get addicted, you are a slave to the pills. You have to keep taking them or risk having a seizure or worse.

Add on tolerance, dependence, rebound anxiety, rebound insomnia, etc. and they eventually become a nightmare. It may take years to realize it, but you will run into the above at some time if you take them on a regular basis. Then you will eventually want to taper off and it will not be easy. The sooner you stop, the better. There's even the possibility of long term brain damage (like alcohol, since benzos work in a similar way to alcohol). There's also something called protracted withdrawal. This is when you continue to experience withdrawal symptoms months to years after stopping benzos.

There's all sorts of horror stories you can find by googling. Huge class action lawsuit in the UK and it will happen in the USA probably some day. It's like big tobacco. There's so much money in it and it's such a big problem that it's going to take time, but eventually they will either be banned or extremely regulated.