who wants to build a social network?

That's right, does anybody want to help me help doing so xD it's not exactly going to be facebook but it would be nice having something like that focusing on people who are shy, suffer from SAD etc.

Hey i got the same idea!! Maybe we can make something together!! Would be awesome !! :D what kind of social networking site do you want to make??
For people with social anxiety or what kind of site??

Ignace

Would be great if someone had an own server at home to host the site. Then nobody has to pay a dot. Or you go for free sites, but they're not fun. :D

DafT

If you have any good ideas and are really eager to do something, send me a msg as I'm a Web developer and am willing to make something if its serious :D

^^ good more people join the cause, those social network engines seem fine but I chose one that had IM in it, Daft that means you're familiar with html and java right?

the last time I set up a website was years ago :p with an ancient tool called geocities, basically what we'll need afterwards is people to actually be there and intereact, this forum is great and everyone's very nice, but a think a more "facebookish" approach would be nicer :p

Feathers

wordpress is easiest to make blogs on, haven't heard of it being used for social networking and such? There's an option for forums but those look a bit odd on WP

it's also one of the easiest ways to make a website, I hear.. though I'm not an expert.. There are tips & instructions online on how to put up a simple WP blog, it can be done quickly.

Not sure, are you guys thinking about something with real names, or just nicknames, like here..?
I'm not very much into social networking, but I see a benefit to maintain some contact with someone even if they choose to leave this place or so..