What's the longest you've been in a hobby?

Aron

So I've been doing this thing for 2 years, practised a lot, got better and better, I became a bit above average I'd say. There were people who even said I should go to competitions, but I never did, I never thought that I would have a chance, and I didn't want to end up as a back marker. Then as time passed my progress slowed down, and I realized that I will never get as good as I'd want, it did not bring so much joy as it used to be.

So I kinda switched to another hobby. Closely related, but I still had to start from the beginning. I was happy again, practising, progressing, more practising. 2 years later, here I am, kinda bored again, not seeing much progress.

I thought it would be so awesome to be doing something for 10 years or so, becoming pretty good at it, whatever that thing would be. But it seems, I just lose interest at some point, when the progress curve flattens out or something, I don't know. Even during these 2 year periods I had some up and downs, questioning if there's even a point doing this.

Does anyone else have similar experiences? Maybe even someone who has been doing their thing for quite a few years, and has dealt with such problems?

Pacific_Loner

Pirate from the North Pole
I know what you're talking about. In fact I think it's normal. The thing is, for most hobbies I've been practicing and getting good at, after 2 years, you come to a point where if you want to progress you need to do a significative extra effort of training, practising or researching to be able to go to the next level, or else you just stay where you are. I've been on and off a couple of hobbies since ten years, and like you, when I reach the point where I don't progress anymore, I tend to give up (most of the time after 6 months to 2 years), but when I decided to put the effort needed to get to the other level, it always worked and gave me a a new source of motivation.