What is Your Major? Is it proving therapeutic for your anxiety, and if so, how?

Mine is a derivative of chemical engineering.

My focus is to study how I can design biodegradable polymeric materials that can be used in medicine, and environmental applications. It's a really exciting field that holds a lot of promise for the future.

I'm just entering this field in my major this semester, so I can't really say it's helped my anxiety any. Time will tell. I know there will have to be a lot of teamwork, presentations, and oral communication. So, I'm really hoping it will help me.

Next...

klytus

You are cool, Blue. I would send you a PM, if I could. ;)

My major is Pure Mathematics. I love it.

While discussions are of eminent importance in the successful study of Mathematics, this academic field does not facilitate social interactions. Teamwork is paramount, in every aspect of modern life, and there is ample opportunity to practice it at a university, however, without using the opportunity, it won't have any (therapeutic) effects on any kind of anxiety.

Exposure (almost) always helps, though.

Last edited:
Haha, thanks. PM's scare me, lol, sorry. I'm a big chicken.

You must be really smart to study Pure Math. I can do Applied math, but Pure Math, well...might as well stick a fork in my eye, lol. I'm not very good at all the theoretical stuff. I'm in my fifth year in college, and with my earlier major, I just went to class and went back to my dorm. Not much interaction. Now I think I'm going to be forced into interacting with people, and I hate it, honestly, but I'm hoping it will work. I'm taking a German class right now, too, and we are forced to interact with people every class period. I'm avoiding the anxiety meds and just letting things roll. I just hope I don't cause myself to have a nervous break down with all this exposure, lol.

Last edited:

Moonie