No Thankyou

Hello everyone how are you all doing out there? This is my first time starting a thread :/ I just got back from GameStop..when I was checking out the cashier guy asked if I wanted to buy the membership thing that gives me 10% off future purchases and it cost $15. I kindly declined saying, "No thanks." he then started telling me the benefits and why I should get it..again I said, "No thanks, not today." then this guys kept asking me questions like, "do you come here alot? Do you play games alot? Etc" I said yes but I didn't want to get the membership card. (I wasn't rude about it either) then the other employee guy behind him overheard us and he came up to me and asked, "Why don't you wanna get the membership?" now I'm feeling embarrassed (line of people watching behind me) and Im a bit annoyed at this point because I didn't want this membership! Lol I again kindly said, "not today." then they both gave me the look like I'm an idiot for not getting it..I paid for my things and left feeling violated in a sense.

Has this happened to anyone? I feel like the nicer you are the more people feel like they can work you over. Imseriously considering being a douchebag to salesman like that in order to gain respect. Sorry for my rant..I just had to get that out..I won't be going back to that GameStop thatsfor sure.

Hellhound

Super Moderator
They are desperate to sell, that's probably why they insisted so much. It's like... if you don't buy it when they suggest nicely, they are going to annoy you to death until you buy it.

That's ridiculous... they probably get commissions on memberships. But the poor economy doesn't excuse their behavior.

U

userremoved

I have this happen quite a bit when I walk past those little stores they have set up in my mall with guys selling stupid stuff like iPod accessories. I try not to make eye contact but if I do, I have to tell them no like 5 times before they stop talking to me.

Shift