I feel retarded

recluse

I can't do maths! Well i can but not quickly in my head. For example when i am paying for something i can't work out quickly in my mind how much change i should be given. I think this is one thing which is holding me back from applying for jobs as a cashier and the such. Every job almost, requires the applicant to be numerate.

market.garden

Ohh man I know what you mean. I suck at maths big time. It makes my head hurt just thinking about it. There are plenty of jobs out there that don't necessarily require maths. I used to work in a shop on the tills all day and I never had problems, and in the rare event that I did, I just used a calculator.

I'm kinda proud of the fact that I'm not good at maths :D My Dad always told me I would need it in life but aside from coming unstuck in the occasional pub quiz when a maths question comes up, it doesn't bother me. **** mathematics!

klytus

Mental calculation is not 'mathematics'. That is a wrong popular belief. Arithmetic operations (like addition, multiplication) are only a very small part of what constitutes modern 'mathematics'. So, don't say you 'suck' at 'maths', because you likely don't know what you are talking about.

And it's wrong, too, to think you can't do mental calculation. The ability to compute sequences of arithmetic operations with large-ish numbers fast mentally can be learned. It is all a matter of exercise and exposure.