Hello from SierraSage

SierraSage

Hi..I am new here..just thought I would introduce myself. I am 38 years old, female, from the western USA. I work as a writer for various online and local places.

I am here because I have basically no friends, have never dated anyone, and am completely isolated except for some relatives I live with..who I don't really talk to other than day to day stuff just to keep peace in the household.

I just had a huge blowup fight with the last friend I had. We sort of patched things up a couple days ago but still aren't really talking. There's a long story there that would be better for another place on here I'm sure..but the situation speaks to my life overall.

I don't want to be like this. I am not sure what type of dating relationship I want...but I do want one..and I know I want to have a small crowd of friends. I am just terrified and lost as to how to meet people who are going to treat me decently.

It isn't that I have poor social skills. If you drop me into a crowd of strangers, I can strike up conversations and get along just fine. I am also extremely perceptive when it comes to how other people are feeling about other people. My problem is that I like to let other people "save face" to the extreme, and I have struggled with low self confidence my entire life. I pretend to be naive a lot and let people do things most people would call them on and tell them to buzz off partly because I don't want to embarrass or hurt them and partly because I think I'm so unpleasant that I owe it to anyone who decides to be kind to me for whatever reason.

I also have appearance issues. Until the friend that I mentioned above, I never really realized men find me attractive. That is also another story for another board on here..but it's always been a huge part of my social anxiety.

Anyway...that's why I'm here.

laure15

Welcome to the forum SierraSage!