Are you unusually skilled/talented?

Mokkat

Im pretty sure Im a skilled bassplayer. Pretty much self-taught.

Except for my when Im playing with my two bandmates, I rarely get to show off how good I am, because anything I do counts as "showing off" badly in my mind. On rare occasions, after drinking heavily mostly, I do end up impressing a couple of people with a guitar fx. but even then it eventually strikes me as being terribly immodest

Last edited:

TommyB

Im pretty sure Im a skilled bassplayer. Pretty much self-taught.

Except for my when Im playing with my two bandmates, I rarely get to show off how good I am, because anything I do counts as "showing off" badly in my mind. On rare occasions, after drinking heavily mostly, I do end up impressing a couple of people with a guitar fx. but even then it eventually strikes me as being terribly immodest

Ahh yes the life of a bass player.The drummer is expected to simply keep the beat...and the bassist to follow the drummer.I remember Metallica being interviewed a while back.They were asked what they might do different on their upcoming album,and if there was anything they would change about their last album and they said..."alot less bass!!"

Poor Jason has to follow Cliff Burton,and not be heard??...pffft .He ended up splitting

what kinda stuff does your trio play?

jazz bassists are expected to show off...maybe you could find a side project like that?

Mokkat

Ahh yes the life of a bass player.The drummer is expected to simply keep the beat...and the bassist to follow the drummer.I remember Metallica being interviewed a while back.They were asked what they might do different on their upcoming album,and if there was anything they would change about their last album and they said..."alot less bass!!"

Poor Jason has to follow Cliff Burton,and not be heard??...pffft .He ended up splitting

what kinda stuff does your trio play?

jazz bassists are expected to show off...maybe you could find a side project like that?