Undeserving of Love and Encouragement.

LadyWench

I was just wondering if anyone here ever feels undeserving of love, positive attention, encouragement, and all of those other wonderful things. I feel this way all the time. I have a very close friend, Jessica, that lives in Tennessee. We met online a few years ago. She came to visit me for a week back in 2008. We're hoping to have another meet-up sometime in the future. Anyway, she's always telling me how much she loves me and genuinely believes in me. She thinks I can overcome all of my mental obstacles. I don't, though. I wish I could believe her, but I just...don't. That isn't my problem, though. As much as I appreciate her being there for me and having confidence in me, I can't help but think I don't deserve her nice and encouraging words.

Also, I got my blood drawn for the first time the other day at the doctor's office. My therapist went with me. I've been putting this off for a couple of years, out of fear of the results and stuff. They want to check my hormone levels and thyroid. I'm terrified of the results. I can't really even sleep because I'm so scared that something is terribly wrong. Anyway, when I was getting my blood drawn, the doctor, my therapist, and the two nurses there were just amazing to me. They were holding my hands, trying to distract my mind (I was actively having a full-blown panic attack while lying there) and talking to me. I was shocked and it just felt nice to be treated that way. I usually just get dumped on by my mother, so this was unusual for me. But in a good way. Then when it was all over with, they were telling me how big of a step this was for me, how proud they were, yadda yadda. It felt great. I felt like I really connected with my new doctor. She was awesome. I felt genuinity from her.