Summer Jobs?

Hello all! First post on here so I guess I'm a newbie :)

I'm a 19-year-old college student and I only recently, within the past two or so years, recognized that my sweating was actually a problem, and realized that I was suffering from hyperhidrosis. I have it nearly everywhere but it's the worst on my hands.

It's that time of year to start scrambling around looking for a summer job. As you can imagine, this is already no easy feat as a college student with limited experience, but it's even more difficult when you have severe hyperhidrosis. I have had temporary office jobs in the past but most of those were gotten through friends and I simply got lucky (it's not going to happen again.) I currently work at my campus library but once again, I got that quite easily because I'm eligible for work study.

Last summer I applied nearly everywhere I could find to no avail and ended up not being able to find anything. I shook it off and came to terms with it but this summer I am really desperate to find something.

The only thing is that I do not want to put myself in a position where I'll be miserable. I know that any job that a college student would most likely be looking for - restaurant server, cashier, etc. - will be very difficult to perform comfortably and successfully with palmar hyperhidrosis.

Not sure if anyone is going to have any ideas but I just figured there was no harm in asking. I've never met anyone with hyperhidrosis and only very recently told my mother about how I've been suffering - but she didn't even know it was an actual disease and didn't seem to take me very seriously.

Anyways, I really am desperate for money. Do you guys have any ideas for part-time, summer employment I could look into? Has anyone been in a similar situation and, if so, what has worked for you?

ukchick

Hi
I completely understand,it's such a difficult situation to be in.