lost...

pear

Hi everyone I am new to the site. I am a recent college graduate with Selective Mutism. It’s something I was able to grow out of somewhat (I am not completely mute anymore just extremely shy) I was never treated for it....never spoke to any counselors, I just sort of spoke to "survive" I guess you could say. Now that I am finished school, I am having such a hard time trying to find a job. I have my degree in communications (ironically) & I am looking for something that involves more writing and less dealing with people. Lately, this has been getting me depressed because this is no way to live. I want to be successful, I want to do so many things....but SM always pushes those things out of reach for me. I don’t want to be limited....I feel like this is so unfair. I hate SM and honestly I think it's a stupid thing to have (especially as an adult.) As a child I was this cute little shy girl... as an adult people assume I am a stuck up b*tch. Every time I go to an interview my SM kicks in and I completely bomb the interview. I don't know how I am ever going to find a job! I feel like SM is my curse and it's keeping me from living a happy life.... :mad:

First of all, congratulations on your degree.
My anxiety has kept me away from college at all.

I wish I had something inspiring to say, or even something to contribute to your topic.
But I guess I just wanted to say I read what you wrote and noticed.
As someone suffering a lot of the same fate, I console with you.
I really really hope things work out for you, because it seems like you're in a good place, just struggling with starting out.
Sorry if I didn't help at all.

Feathers

Hi pear!

Congratulations on finishing the degree, yup! :) Did you do anything to celebrate?

What kind of jobs have you been looking for? Some writing jobs might not need interviews, you could apply online and make a portfolio?