Jury Duty

applegirl

Okay, so I got my first summons for jury duty. It was on may 28th and i went and they actually picked me. I went along with it because I thought it would be a piece of cake 4-5 days kind of thing but in fact I have to be there for 9 days. That's like two weeks minus the weekends. :( I didn't say anything when they asked if any of us have a medical condition that prevents us from serving as jurors because I thought I could handle it. I'm not very good at talking in social situations and it often takes me longer to process something in my head and by the time i want to reply i'm like three seconds behind from the usual one second reply a person gives. I thought it was all going to be business being a grand juror but everyone is getting to know each other after spending three days in the same court room. Today (which was the third day) I got asked by one of the male jurors in front of everyone what my name was. I said my name, and he's all "Hi, ___! How are you doing?" I looked down in shyness and he went on to comment, "You're so quiet. We haven't heard you speak yet" which I believe is an understatement. I was never a chatterbox the entire three days but I most certainly answered when the juror secretary inquired (in front of everyone) what my juror number was and who was the juror's number who sat next to me (if the person was absent). Another male juror in front of me said, "She's stuck in the corner reading a book all the time." Later he said I seemed to not want to open up to the other jurors and stuff. What i didn't understand is when he said i should learn to "cope" like everyone else is doing. Maybe he thinks cause i'm not saying much that i must be irritated to be doing jury duty with a bunch of strangers?