Having a bad day...

bcsr

Isn't it funny how having one bad day can make you almost instantly revert back to old habits? Saturday was pretty much the worst day I've had in a long time. I got really depressed, punched a steel pole, and might have broken my index finger.

I've been hitting the gym hard for almost 5 months now, getting healthy, in preparation for police academy. In my practice runs, I exceeded all their requirements, rather easily. Felt so good about this, was so hyped about taking the exam and fitness test on Saturday. This has been my dream since I was 12.

Problem was, I work nights. By the time I get off and get home it's almost 6am, and I had to be there at 9am. I knew I was going to be exhausted, so I set TWO separate alarms, and I slept through them both. And despite doing 80mph the whole way there, I was 2 minutes late. Once the test starts, doors are locked, no exceptions. I have to wait for the next academy before I can try again. It was such a miserable feeling. I would have much rather taken the test and failed.

I got depressed, and I knew sitting at home alone was going to just make things worse, so I texted a few friends to see if anyone wanted to go out. Half of them didn't even respond. Made me feel bad, like I'm not even worth 30 seconds of your time to respond. Ended up sitting around feeling sorry for myself the rest of the day.

I'm fine now. But damn, it's SO easy to fall back into those old patterns, and old ways of thinking. Social anxiety really is a lifelong problem, it's like living with an incurable disease, all you can do is manage it and control the outbreaks.

Venting Session Complete. :)