Hard-to-deal-with Parents

Blannabers

Hey SPW.

I want to ask anyone who has experience with 'tough-to-deal-with' parents.

I am 26 and living at home. I have been painfully looking for an out ever since I was 20. I have the work experience and I have schooling, however times are being quite hard on my generation right now when it comes to jobs. I am a graphic designer by trade and it is very hard to find my type of work in the area I live in (Northeastern Pennsylvania). My parents are pretty... well... ignorant. My mother called 911 on a person who is Muslim and was praying at a wal-mart parking lot, and my dad is really just a simple man who was born and raised on the farm and just dealt a lot with truck driving. But ultimately, I have to turn to them about experience for car-buying since all of my cars were just hand-me-downs or junk cars that would 'just get me by till the next one'. I'm not asking for money help, I'm asking for advice. What the heck, I am so frustrated!

So here is my dilemma. I am looking to get a new car and my parents are aware that I am in desperate need of one because the one I drive now is on it's last leg. However, I just got THE MOST bullshit excuse I have ever heard in my entire life. she says to me "You can't get a car right now until you fix the one you have. The car lot will not talk to you when your car is in that condition".

Now I'm having a tough time keeping money around because my current and terrible job doesn't give raises because they are cheap ****s and I have to drive an hour to get to my prison... I mean place of work.