Guys, how do YOU break the ice??

Shoegazer

Ok, I'll get the back story over with so you can see what I am getting at. I guess the first thing you should know is that I am pretty rusty at this stuff.. It has been exactly 5 years since I graduated from high school. I didn't go to college, so it has been a lot harder for me to find a girl that is mutually interested. In fact, I couldn't even find one girl who was mutually interested in the course of these 5 years despite my subtle attempts.

Yesterday, I attended my cousin's 21st birthday party. I only really knew anyone that was in my family at this party (hold this particular cousin.. I actually don't know her all that well oddly enough), otherwise I really didn't know anyone else that attended personally. Anyways, my dad pointed a girl out to me who I have seen at their parties in the past.. one of my cousin's friends. He was telling me to go up and talk to her, but tbh I've never been the type to just approach someone out of nowhere. Also, she's a very attractive girl and seems to have a pretty good head on her shoulders.. so I couldn't help but assume that she probably wasn't single anyways. So, no... I didn't end up trying to talk to her. :eek:h:

I ended up going home earlier on, but my mother must have stayed at the party until midnight at least. Once she gets home, she comes up to me and goes "Guess what?". She had talked to this girl all through out the night, and told her I thought she was cute. This is all my mom said too, she wasn't trying to get at anything or shoving the idea of me down her throat (no "my son is single", "you should hook up with my son", etc. or anything like that). But to my surprise, she was actually interested, apparently smiling all like "really?!". So I guess she was asking all about me, was wondering if I was coming back to the party and ended up friending me on FB. I'm pretty sure you've got the idea by now.. but yeah, she seems pretty interested to me.