Good Morning to those of you on the West Coast; Greetings to all<3

susyq

Hello, my name is Susy.

My apologies, in advance, if my posts seems childish. I have zero experience when it comes to participating in forums. Yeah, my social anxiety is that severe that I even get anxiety over people reading the post I make...<<;

However, I decided to do one uncomfortable thing each day in order to overcome my fears. And I plan to keep that promise to myself, and actively post. Even if, no one in the end reads them. I just understood that loving yourself requires more than belief but actions. Actions that say that I love myself for who I am by taking better care of myself.

For the longest period of time, I didn't know what the hell was wrong with me (exactly). When I was younger, I remember my teacher recommending me to go through this book that listed all these coping skills. And to be frank, I didn't know then that I had issues socially interacting with other children. I thought at the time I was going a normal phase of childhood development. What was wrong with being a bit shy?

But as I got older, my self-image and confidence shattered to pieces.. As much as I wanted to be friendly and sociable to other people, I would get so much anxiety from the social situation itself that I end up avoiding any social confrontation with people. Because of that whenever I have something I need to do, I end up preferring to do it alone. And in the end, I take off more than I can chew. And the self-loathing begins. Seriously, its a vicious cycle I wish to stop doing.

While researching treatments and therapy for my condition, I was happy to know that I wasn't the only one going through something like this. It was a sigh of relief to know that I wasn't really "stupid" or "lacked motivation" getting over some sort of juvenile phase. And that other people were/are also trying their best to work it out, and some have actually achieved success!