Forget about friends, I don't even have acquaintances!

lostinthecrowd

Okay, so a little background information here: I'm in college, and I take the bus there Tuesdays/Thursdays to go to my classes. I'm in my 3rd year, but I can honestly say that in all these years I haven't so much as exchanged names with a person (I'm excluding group work here because with that you're forced to do that sort of thing). My typical day consists of going to classes and just sitting there by myself while everyone else chats with each other.

I'm writing this because I honestly don't understand how I got myself into this situation. It's been like this my whole life: everyone else somehow magically connects with each other while I'm left excluded. The only time anyone ever talks to me is to ask a question about homework...then they just go right back to ignoring me.

Why is this? Is there something horribly wrong with me? Some kind of vibe I give off that tells everyone to avoid me? I've been on other social anxiety forums before, and the problem with the people there doesn't seem to be that people avoid them, just that they avoid other people. For me, it's definitely the opposite. I feel like I'm an alien or something, like I don't even belong on this planet. Everyone else seems to gravitate to each other, but I'm like a magnet that repels everyone. Anyways, sorry I'm rambling so much in this post. I just had to get this all out, because it's all I can do to keep from breaking down right now. This may sound overdramatic, but I've basically lost all hope.

Last edited:

DillJenkins

This is how I was in college. I have never really fit in with anybody at school. I like to smoke reefer in college and this allowed me to make some friends. I never really felt a deep connection with anyone at school however.