First Time Poster

Hey Everyone,

This is my first post about ocd ever. im surprised that ive never been on an ocd forum before untill now. Probably because I dont wanna become hooked on this site like how I check my email all the time ha!

Im a 23 year old dude from jersey. Ive had ocd since 3rd grade and its been on n off to a degree through out then. It was at its worst when i was in 6th grade where it was actually more physical compulsions than obsessions and the past couple years the obsessions have been pretty bad and not as much the physical routines.

Just only a few months ago i realised how my ocd is linked to so many other things. Just recently i think i may have bdd and became anorexic a little. Ive even been a little bulimic. And found out recently its common with ocd.

Theres so many things I can rant on but I wont do it all in this post! Ha

One thing that pissed me off was I found out recently ocd can be linked to creativity. My whole life I've been an amazing artist and musician and it defines who I am..

My band is really getting good and I feel like I could never take medication cause antidepressants dull creativity. So its like i can choose my creativity which defines who i am, or take medicine and be free...

Also I have in the past taken antidepressant ssri's and didnt get too much help! When I was in 6th grade, zoloft did help with the compulsions but when I was on it I got all weird and antisocial.

Also recently I havent been on medication in YEARS and in college for only a month i tried prozac and got really antisocial. It also didnt help my ocd.

This site is sicialphobiaworld.com, and everyone says ocd is all social phobia but id say im rather outgoing..
Either way, I feel like anitdepressants dont do anything and when I do take them it makes me weird and it would dull my creativity. So i guess Im screwed

The past year I actually became an alcoholic...and its not just college partyin but theres been times i get bombed by myself lol