exercise weight training?

smyth

hey indeepshit, well im no pro weight trainer but i kno that to get the toned look u want to be using lighter weights and doing more repetitions which will tone the muscles rather than building them. If u up the weights and lower the repetitions then u will start building muscle mass(which u dont want). also if u do cardio work such as rowing, running, or swimming this wud also be beneficial. cheers. Craig

Thelema

Smyth, I don't mean to sound like an ass, but none of that is true.

Women lack the testosterone (among other things) to build big muscles, no matter how they train. There is no such thing as "toning" or "shaping" a muscle.

I would suggest you join a gym. They even have some nice women only gyms.

If you don't want to join a gym there are a lot of good internet sites that will educate you on what to do.

Take it slow at first, educate yourself and you'll be addicted to it in no time

maggie

InDeepshit said:
Thanks for your replies. Thelema- i know the exercise and diet routine i would need to follow for my body type, but i'm hesitant about starting it in case i form muscular looking arms. I'm aiming to only build my back muscles and appear to have broader shoulders. I was hoping that someone with similar goals would share their own results after starting upper body weight training, but i don't think anyone wants to be posting up their pictures, or they don't care lol. I'll just give it a go and if i don't like the results, i'll stop.
hi InDeepshit..i've been working out for a few years, eat healthy, use the treadmill almost daily, and also used some weights. I've not developed big muscles..just look more healthy and toned :wink:

Thelema

InDeepshit said: