Does identifying yourself as an SAD sufferer help or hurt how you cope?

crazypants

I'm very new to identifying myself this way, which is why I ask.

I've always known I had issues, but I never put a label on it until just a few months ago, as strange as that seems. When I was young, I was always called Shy, and although I knew that word was just too simple to describe what I was going through, it stuck, and I just figured I was some kind of weirdo - but I sure didn't think I had some kind of PHOBIA or DISORDER! Yikes!

I just knew that my behavior was always causing problems with my family and friends (mostly my family) and they just didn't know why I couldn't get my act together and do what normal people are supposed to do. I figured, I'm an intelligent person; I can reason my way through this. (Talk about the opposite of intelligent!)

So I was laid off from my job of 12 years about a year ago. As time went on and my unemployment came closer to ending, I began to panic at the idea of going on job interviews. After leaving 2 job interviews in tears and frustration at my own stupid anxieties - and the fact that I couldn't stop sweating! - I realized this isn't some minor personality quirk anymore - there's something going on in my head that I can't control no matter how hard I try.

A few months ago, I finally began to research social anxiety. I don't even remember what made me do it; maybe I always knew in the back of my mind. I took a test on-line, and it was like the biggest Aha moment of my life. So THIS is what's wrong with me!!! And other people have it!!!

Anyway, what I'm wrestling with now is, I love the fact that I've begun identifying certain behaviors as SAD related. But I don't want it to become my excuse for not doing things I don't want to do.

So does knowing you have SAD help you to deal with things, or do you sometimes feel that you're using it as an excuse? I'd love to hear from you all since you seem to be so in touch with your SADness! :)