Avoiding eating with friends

abi_gail

Hello all

I'm a newbie to this website so sorry if there has already been a post similar to this, but I need help!

I am 34 and for as long as I can remember I have avoided going out to eat socially with friends and even family. I get this feeling that I'm going to be sick or nauseous, even if I am starving so I mainly don't go. I'm not sure where this started but I've never been a big eater and as a child would pick at my food and parents would often say I'm not leaving the table until I finish my food.
Now at 34, I'm still not a big eater but am fine eating alone, now with my loving fiance or with someone I'm really comfortable with. In the past going on first dates to eat was always terrifying!! I would be hungry ( often I would try and not eat all day so I can attempt to eat and not feel sick) but that wouldn't work and often I'll sit there making an excuse that im feeling sick, was no longer hungry or the food wasn't nice. I'd think, are they looking at what I'm not eating, if I hadn't eaten a lot, I'd think they must think I wasted their money or are they thinking I've got some eating disorder. Yes I'm slim but I've been trying to put weight ON. Sometimes I just want to say 'I'm starving but for some reason I can't eat infront of you!!'
Sometimes having a buffet meal isn't so bad, I guess people aren't studying as much on what is being eaten but a sit down meal is the WORSE, I'd be fine when ordering, but then as the food comes, that sick feeling kicks in !!.

I hope I am making sense, I just need some help as many people, even close ones do not understand my situation, anyone else who is going through the same thing?

Last edited:

karl:-/