Severe stage fright

Whenever I stand on the stage, I feel terribly nervous. I can feel my palms sweaty and cold, sometimes my legs are even shaking. I tried to control my fear but it was useless. I just can't cope stage fright. Even the thought of receiving prize from somebody in a prize-giving ceremony makes me nervous.
Please help me!

Kiwong

You only need to walk across the stage and take the award off the person presenting it to you. It's not necessary to have to say anything. The people in the hall will be only focused on the person, whether family of friends of who is receiving the reward, not you.

When I got my degree I just focused on the person who gave me the degree, and walked off stage.

Go on stage with pride you earnt your graduation.

Joan6466

I can totally sympathize-I was once totally phobic of any stage- it was terrifying. I would get violent migraine headaches and be sick for days. I had to overcome it or quit, so here are a few ideas from someone who has been there. You need a bucket full of techniques because sometimes one method works and another time it won't work, so you need to pull out a different technique. Keep them together in a little notebook, or on your phone. You won't remember them because our memory is impaired when we're frightened. Once I figured out how to quiet the terror I actually began teaching a number of classes on different dimensions of social phobias and anxiety. I thought no one should have to suffer so much being around ones own species!