I've lost my ability to write!

Lowlight

So I used to be a pretty good writer back in high school (4 years ago). I mostly wrote persuasive papers trying to convince the reader that my opinion on a subject was correct. I also had to do a few research papers that I didn't find too interesting. It was the fiction that I could write that was good (apparently). I didn't write too much fiction, but a few short stories here or there wasn't out of the question.

It was in my first year of community college that I began to write seriously again. I had a few good angles and ideas that I started to write down. I was actually happy because writing seemed to be one of the few things that I was good at. It was at this time that two things happened which upset my writing process.

The first was being placed on lithium. I needed the lithium for my bipolar desperately because I used to be very confrontational when I was manic. When I first started out with the lithium I was enveloped in a haze that stunted most of my mental faculties. I was the definition of a zombie. I couldn't read with any comprehension. I couldn't write a paragraph without getting lost in my own mind.

The second event that hurt my writing was the untimely death of my laptop. The short story is that the hard drive failed and I lost all my data. All my stories I had written from senior year of high school to the end of my college days were gone (And no I wasn't smart enough to back it up. Please learn from my mistake).

So now I have not only lost my catalog of writings but I have also lost the ability to replenish the volumes with new stories because of the lithium induced fog.

Have any of you ever had any experience losing your writer's mind?

MikeyC

That's a terrible sequence of events, mate. And yeah, backing up your files is the best thing you can do! I've done it right now and I know it'll be a lifesaver one day.