Is anxiety rooted in my genes?

adamm

Hi,
I am new to this section. I usually posted in the face blushing section as this was my main problem for the past 10 years. I had suffered from severe facial blushing since I was 12 years old.

I have cured almost 100% of my blushing. I was always ambitious and mentally strong, I promised myself to never let myself take medication and I was strong for years. I felt like taking medicatiom = giving up.

I exercise regularly, eat healthy meditate, study paychology and self development and thats how I cured my facial blushing and most of my anxiety. But the problem is my anxiety is still there. Symptoms such as heart palpitations are gone, but my short term memory is getting worse and worse because of stress and I feel like I've done everything I could to get better.

My mother and grandmother also suffered from facial blushing, anxiety and a bit od OCD. My mum went through exactly the same things as me, so it seems like all the anxieties were past to me through genes and they will always be there. I had anxieties since I was a little kid.

I just don't know what to do. I could accept my anxiety and live like that, but stress really affects my short term memory and learning abilities. On the other hand medication has side effects too and people are saying it only masks the problem. I would be greatful if you could share your thoughts.

SilentAndShy

I'm not sure how my Mum was when she was my age but I do feel I've inherited some of her lack of assertiveness, confidence etc. My dad's the polar opposite but I think I've gone worse maybe of my own doing and life situation.

Odo

Banned
I am a pretty big believer in the genetic thing... my dad's side of the family is notoriously anxious and/or unstable.

But it could also be attributed to behaviors passed down through emulation.

Last edited: