I hate introductions

girlinthecorner

HI

I've had social anxiety for a long time, but I think it did get worse after I graduated high school because I completely stopped talking to people after that, except my family. And I barely talk to my family.

I have zero friends. I want a friend, I think. It's just hard for me to make any friends and keep them. Plus, usually I just don't like most people. The problem I have with making friends is trying to appear normal because that's what they expect and I start feeling uncomfortable because I try to avoid talking about the weird things about me. And I'm not used to doing things that normal friends do like talking on the phone or going out to the movies, so when that starts to come up I start to freak out and have to end the friendship or they'll stop talking to me because they get fed up with me.

I just started my first job a week ago (at age 23 - FINALLY) and I was really hoping I could meet a friend there, but NOPE. Everyone at my job is super nice to me and tries talking to me but I feel so awkward because I don't feel normal with them. Sometimes I wish they weren't so nice so I wouldn't feel like the odd one out. Usually I just don't want to talk and people keep asking me personal questions that I really don't want to answer, but I don't know how not to answer without appearing rude.

Hi girlinthecorner, welcome :)

You still could make friends at work, often it takes months to get used to people at work.

Ignace

I don't like personal questions either. Mostly I just answer something stupid so they don't ask me again. But it's bad for your image, so think before you answer. :)

Feathers

Hi and welcome! :)

YAY for the job!