greetings from Aus! (24, female)

roseycheeks

Hi All

im so glad I came across this site.

I havent been diagnosed with SA, im here mostly because im quite shy, and find certain social situations arouse a lot of fear and anxiety in me. I try to cover it up by 'wearing' a mask but at the end of the day i cant help but feel fake and disapointed with myself (annnd wearing a mask requires so much effort.. constant monitoring and self awareness. it's not the life i want to live).

Anyway, currently Im studying psychology, which i love, but am starting to doubt my confidence in persuing the career.. i mean i have the drive and passion to help others but cant help but question if it'd be worth the anxiety.. i really dont know.. n i imagine my whole 'people pleasing' characteristic would work against providing an honest and supportive service... bah :(

so here i am, hoping to learn some ways to overcome these problems (or atleast better deal with them) and meet some other cool peeps :)

ahh, what a relief it is to finally be open about this stuff ~

roseycheeks

argh, 2 days and no1 has replied :(
(not that im counting... )
trying not to care but cant help it...
somehow i feel that it reflects my self worth.
thats pretty fked , huh.

does anyone else get anxious when they start a post?
you think you'd be able to shake these feelings when you're online.

roseycheeks

hello kien and slowmotion
nice to meet you both :)

Slowmotion: I'm from melbourne!
where in syd are you? an ex of mine lives in Chifley

dottie

roseycheeks said:
thats pretty fked , huh.

don't worry, i am the same way. i always hope someone will respond to my posts to validate my feelings. maybe people don't reply much because we are only allowed 7 posts in 24 hours (ugh) and they want to be sure to utilize those posts on things that are especially important to them to say. kwim? anyway, sounds like you are in the right place, here. welcome!

Rodox

roseycheeks said:
thats pretty fked , huh.