Caffeine

Meatwad

Is it true that drinking caffeine is bad for those with SA, causing anxiety level to rise?

redlady

I usually drink 10 or more cups a day. I have to, to function. I've tried to give it up, but i feel like a zombie without the stuff. I guess i'm too far gone as an addict for it to actually give me a 'buzz' - but it keeps me awake - good enough.

black_mamba

Caffiene is a drug like any other; trying to quit may leave you with some withdrawal effects, but in the long term I felt that cutting out caffiene helped my anxiety levels drop enormously! :)

Sue

being such a light weight coffee sends me through the roof. i drink it when i really need it like if i have to stay awake during a test or if im studying but it deosent seem to effect my sp thank god

thugaveli

It definatly sends me hyper after about 2 litres :lol:

I'm ok when ive got caffiene rush its just when it wears off i feel edgy
and anxious

Bit like alcohol i suppose

I will say it doesnt help it triggers symptoms of SP very easily such as blushing, nervousness, negative thoughts......ect

I actually think caffiene causes me depression sometimes, but somethings
gotta get me moving in a morning!

GettingThere

Caffeine is a stimulant and stimulants do tend to make us more nervous.

As others have said it really depends on the amount intaken. In moderation it should not cause any real problem but hey, if you can get by without it, go for it.

Remus

Staff member
I gave it up and noticed an improvement, managed to sleep alittle better too which helps anxiety levels

2QuietForThem

I MAY drink a cup per day at work. Sometimes I get a rush that awakens me - sometimes it does absolutely nothing. But in relation to SA, it doesn't do a thing. I will avoid a talkative person like the plague. I will stumble over words. I will wonder who thinks I'm wierd. I'll just stay quiet and listen to others.

Yossarian