Anybody Else Feel This Way?

punkiefunkyshoe

I'm new to this, so I hope I'm doing it right.

Lately I've been having panic attacks and then fainting after them and totally blacking out. Is that normal? Does this happen to anybody else?

Sacrament

I'm sure you're not the only one. What happens before you have those panic attacks? Any specific triggers?

FountainandFairfax

in a VAN down by the RIVER
I get light-headed all the time, but I don't recall ever feeling that way due to anxiety.

Apparently, it has something to do with hyperventilation in some anxious people.

From: Anxiety & Fainting: Can Anxiety Cause You To Faint?

Remember, there's no harm in seeing the doctor if you're concerned. Your doctor can easily rule out most of the dangerous causes of feeling faint. But it's such a common anxiety symptom, that if you have reason to believe you're suffering from anxiety, it's highly likely that your experience is the result of hyperventilation.

If you're feeling faint, the first step is to go against your instinct and try not to take in breaths that make your chest expand. You need to add more CO2 to your bloodstream. You can do this by taking slower breaths and trying to breathe in through your stomach, rather than your chest. Also, once you've breathed in, hold your breath for a few seconds before slowly exhaling.

Often you'll notice your feeling faint comes with other symptoms as well. All of these symptoms represent signals that your body is giving you about your anxiety.

Sacrament