Any advice on how to overcome shyness without ALCOHOL???

jayfavorito17

I am 19 years old and I have been dealing with shyness all my life. I honestly don't know if it qualifies as social anxiety disorder. I am still a college student and it's hard for me to start or hold conversation with classmates. I struggle a lot with presentations and after 3 semester, i still don't have any "friends" in the class. I am not an alcoholic and alcohol really taste bitter. Although after a few drinks,i find it that alcohol reduces my inhibitions, making me more confident and bring out my true self. I become more social,hold up conversations, and have a really good time. Unfortunately, this feeling wears off as i become sober so i was wondering if there are any ways to maintain that level of confidence without the use of alcohol ??? Any help would be appreciated

Sacrament

Work on the things you dislike about yourself in order to become more confident without the need to resort to alcohol. Then, exposure, exposure, exposure, and telling yourself that the reasons for your social anxiety are not rational.

FountainandFairfax

in a VAN down by the RIVER
I hate to sound like this is my constant refrain, but you really should speak to a therapist.

Tell them you have shyness that's severe enough to restrict your ability to enjoy life and function. When a trait causes you this much trouble, when you have to self-medicate to deal with it, it's not just shyness.

fate12321

I honestly not sure what to tell you since I'm also like that. Just try to change your behavior by talking to people you have in you class. I've tried that and it somewhat works.

AlienGeranium