Advice, please :)

OTGrl

Hey everyone!
I was looking to get some advice from people who understand what I'm dealing with. I am an occupational therapy student who gets sweaty when I feel like people are watching me. I start my fieldwork in less than a month. This requires me to raise my arms, touch people, etc. I sweat a lot for a girl under my arms and on my hands when I get nervous. I have to wear polos or plain button down shirts. I may even have to wear white ones. I was wondering what tips any of you have for purchasing shirts that do not show underarm marks? I've tried buying undershirts with sewn in pads and I've tried the throw away pads. I've decided that they only make me sweat more! Any ideas on what fabrics and such are best, would be great. Also, my hands only sweat if I know I'll be touching people that I don't know well. Any tips for this? I've seen a psychologist and psychiatrist to try to get rid of my anxiety entirely, but no such luck. I was even on anti-anxiety meds for a little while and no luck there either. I've tried prescription antiperspirant and no luck with those either. Please help me. Thank you :)

ImNotMyIllness

You can try Botox. That should work for you underarms. You hand issue seems more psychological-some type of therapy would probably be best to get to the core of your fear....i.e germs,etc.

Sprawling

I disagree with the above. HH is anything but psychological. It's more physiological. It's an endless cycle of sweat, therefore I'm nervous, therefore I sweat. Getting your hands under control by doing ionto treatments can also impact upon your underarms. Less sweating on the hands can trick the body into thinking it's relaxed and not in fright and flight response.

jaim38

I also sweat easily in the underarms and here are my advice:

1) Shave frequently! The hair in the underarms can trap bacteria which is responsible for the smell. Since you're working with patients, I would say shave at least every 2 days.