What's the difference between panic disorder and generalized anxiety disorder?

Draconess25

Is it possible to have both? More importantly, is it possible to have one or both AND social anxiety? Like, I'm paranoid about everything from housefires to spirits attacking be, but my MAIN trouble is with social situations. So is it possible to have all three?

HexNoir

I'm not a professional, but I think so, since I know exactly what you're talking about. I think there's an overlap. Generalized anxiety can also make social situations more painful, and even overlap into horrible things like hypochondria (according to one book I've been reading).

Kiwong

Yes it is. I have been diagnosed with them all. For me the thoughts associated with anxiety build up towards me having feelings of panic, dizziness, chest tightness, and that has led to me having a series of panic attacks.

I saw a therapist and she reckoned I had generalised anxiety disorder, but for me the social situations are worse. Another therapist suggested I had moderate to severe social anxiety.

Kiwong

The way I thought of panic disorder was that my mind got so filled up with anxious and angry thoughts that they boiled over and my mind said "no more" and gave me something else to worry about and that was the fear that I was dieing.

Draconess25

I'm not a professional, but I think so, since I know exactly what you're talking about. I think there's an overlap. Generalized anxiety can also make social situations more painful, and even overlap into horrible things like hypochondria (according to one book I've been reading).

Oh, I think I may have that too.

Draconess25

Yes it is. I have been diagnosed with them all. For me the thoughts associated with anxiety build up towards me having feelings of panic, dizziness, chest tightness, and that has led to me having a series of panic attacks.