What supplements do you take for depression?

PugofCrydee

You want to know how I got these scars?
I don't take any 'supplements' to help treat my depression.

But I do know that eating a balanced diet and getting exercise is beneficial. There is no magic bullet.. yet.

Something-Vague

I am not diagnosed with depression and I am by no means a doctor, so take what I say with a grain of salt and seek medical advice. However, I know of supplements that have been said to help according to some studies and that I know worked for other people I know.

1. Omega 3
2. Vitamin D
3. Magnesium

Janey

I am not diagnosed with depression and I am by no means a doctor, so take what I say with a grain of salt and seek medical advice. However, I know of supplements that have been said to help according to some studies and that I know worked for other people I know.

1. Omega 3
2. Vitamin D
3. Magnesium

Which ones?

I am not sure how much good they are doing but I am currently taking a multivitamin (https://www.wildnutrition.com/all-products/food-grown-daily-multi-nutrient-w) and an omega 3 capsule from microalgae (Algae Omega 3 - 200mg DHA – nothingfishy).

I haven't started taking Vitamin D yet, is there a specific product or dosage you would recommend?

Last edited:

grapevine

Ive been taking very high doses of vitamin D every 3 or 2nd day.

I take cold pressed hempseed oil and avocado oil for my omega 3/6/9

I have been juicing for 4 months now- but I am going to increase that to a whole new level because my depression has gotten out of hand-

the best juice I have found is beetroot juice - juicing a whole beetroot with cucumber an an apple and some kale- it gives me a boost and studies have shown that it helps with cognitive function.

But I think getting a whole heap of nutrients into your body via juicing a whole heap could really help and that is what I am going to try in between my meals.