What are the effects of anxiety meds?

anonymous11

I'll start by putting this in context. I'm a college student. One class I am currently taking is oriented toward class participation- a lot of discussions and presentations; one of those classes were you move the desks to create an open circle so that no one can hide in back (my usual thing). A few days ago in this class our professor did this exercise where basically we all had a few minutes to right down an argument and then present it to the class. As soon as he explained the exercise I had a panic attack; my heart was pounding so loud the kid sitting next me could hear it, I felt dizzy, sick, and I wanted to run away but I couldn't move. I ended up staying and doing the presentation, and although it was humiliating b/c I was so visibly nervous, I did make it through.My normal response would be to never go to class again, but I want to do well in this one and it is a required class so I can't fail or drop b/c I'll have to retake it anyways.

But anyways, now I'm looking for medication so that I don't have to go through this again. The stress of going through this again will kill me. I'm too nervous to go through a psych or something so I'll have to get it from a dealer- they usually have something like xanax.

My question is what can I even expect from anxiety. Will I be able to sit in class and give presentations w/o being nervous, or is that wishful thinking? What results do anxiety medication?

Second question: should I go to a psych for meds, is it worth it?

Last edited:

ImNotMyIllness

Probably not. There's also risks of developing tolerance and withdrawals, which can be hell. For a situation like this, Klonopin would be a good medication. But, it's a Benzo and a very dangerous one at that. I advise not to take it.